Jump to main content

2017 SC Green Step School Awards

Each year, SC Green Step School Awards are given for well-established, model-quality projects that help Conserve, Protect or Restore the school’s environment. School teams must work with qualified mentors and provide pictures of students learning, doing and teaching others about their projects. 

Schools and their mentors each receive a recycled motherboard frame. Updated certificates slide into the frames each year. 

Anderson County

Elementary School: Wren*

Beaufort County

Elementary Schools: River Ridge Academy, Whale Branch*

Fairfield County

K-12 School: Barclay School

Florence County

Middle School: Sneed*

Greenville County

Elementary Schools: Oakview*, Slater Marietta, Taylors*

K-12 School: Christ Church Episcopal*, St. Joseph's Catholic

Greenwood County

Elementary School: Lakeview

Horry County

Elementary School: Burgess*

Middle Schools: Forestbrook, Ocean Bay*

Lexington County

Elementary Schools: Deerfield, Gilbert*, Meadow Glen, Pleasant Hill*

Middle Schools: Irmo*, Meadow Glen

High School: River Bluff*

Oconee County

High School: Tamassee DAR School

Pickens County

Elementary Schools: Central, Clemson, Pickens

Middle Schools: Dacusville, Pickens

High Schools: Daniel*, Easley, Liberty, Pickens

Richland County

Elementary Schools: A.C. Moore*, Bradley, Catawba Trail*, Columbia Islamic, Columbia Montessori*, Conder*, Dutch Fork Academy of Environmental Science*, HE Corley*, Lake Carolina Lower Campus*, Pontiac, St. John Neumann Catholic*

High Schools: Heyward Career Center, Lower Richland 

York County

Elementary Schools: Doby’s Bridge, Larne, Springfield

*Schools earning our Certified Status for at least 2 model quality sustaining projects in each category: conserve, protect, restore.

2016 Superlative Awards:

Conserve School of the Year: Wren Elementary School* (Anderson County)

Protect School of the Year: Daniel High School* (Pickens County)

Restore School of the Year: Dutch Fork Elementary Academy of Environmental Science* (Richland County)

Overall School of the Year: Gilbert Elementary School (Lexington County)